Where to start lol. Well, I guess some background information is needed in order for my posts from here on out to make sense. I left UE and am now attending the University of West Georgia. I love where I am and my major, early childhood education, isn't half bad either. I know I said that about my last major and the last school I was at but I really feel like God placed me at UWG for a reason. What that reason is I'm not entirely sure but here's hoping I am able to clear my head enough to listen to the plan God has for me and sense enough to follow where he leads me.
Now that all of that is out of the way, it's time for the real subject of tonight's post: the CCF Focus retreat. Almost 3 hours in and I am already amazed at what I have heard and what God has placed on my heart. Sadly, this is something he has placed on my heart in the past and I've kind of just sluffed it off. So here it is: I need to focus less on the material aspects of this life and less on the life the world would have me lead and more on God and his will for my life. As was stated tonight: we are so connected but we are so disconnected. We get so connected and intertwined in technology that we forget about focusing on Jesus. What you put your time, effort, and money into is what you worship. Most people praise God when life is going well but what about when things go bad/are taken away. This all got me thinking. How much time, energy, and money do I put into this life an this world and how much do I put towards furthering God's will and his kingdom. Unfortunately, the majority of my resources do go towards this life and the corrupt nature of this world. There have been numerous occasions upon which I envied my friends cause they had the latest technology that I just had to have. How many times have I upgraded to the next best thing when I should have been perfectly content with what I have. After all nothing we have in this life is ours, everything is given to us by God. Everything is on loan from him. So I guess the question we need to ask ourselves is: what in my life am I worshipping, what in my life am I putting before my relationship with God? Just something to think about....
Surrender to Love
Friday, February 15, 2013
Tuesday, February 8, 2011
Gaaahhh, Arrghh, Baahhh, Grrr.........EXPLODE
Ok I shall now explain the title of this post: I hate when I text people or message people and they don't reply!!!!! That said, I'm not currently mad at anyone in particular, maybe myself but thats another story. I am mainly frustrated that I am hungry and have lots of homework to do and am not really tired (don't ask why thats frustrating cause idk) and I can't really focus and I need to find a dress for the Vday dinner on saturday and I need to find a dress for formal pledging...also on saturday and I need to do laundry like desperately and I don't think the guy I like knows I exist at least not in that way and I'm running out of things that are frustrating me off the top of my head but I'm sure there are more. And omgoodness that is like the worst run-on sentence ever! So now where to start???
I guess we can start with Saturday's events and everything leading up to them. So I guess starting with tomorrow is logical enough. Tomorrow I have classes (duh) and work but sometime after work I am getting a study group together to study for Friday's Into to Psych exam. Fun stuff right? Well it just might be fun stuff considering the guy I like will be there as well as his friends and possibly another girl from my psych class. So that will be interesting if nothing else. However the guy I like is not responding to txt/messages so idk but then again I have already kinda covered that issue so moving on. Tomorrow night I am going out with one of my Phi Mu sisters to get a dress and shoes for formal pledging which is Saturday at wait for it......9 am! The fact that it is so early kinda ticks me of cause I am never up that early on a Saturday. O well. I'm also gonna look for another dress tomorrow, this one for the Student Christian Fellowship Valentine's day dinner thing which happens to be semi-formal and all my dresses of that category are in the 'burgh. But I am looking forward to the dinner. It'll give me a chance to look nice around the guys for once. Not that I don't try to look nice everyday but I admittedly do not wear a semi-formal dress, or a dress of any kind for that matter, everyday. So that much is exciting and I hope the guy I like will be there.
Ok Rant officially over!
Now onto the best part: Differential diagnosis: a guy's mind....go!
If anyone has any insight into this differential please let me know cause quite frankly House would never hire me seeing as I've got nothing. Like nothin', flatlining, brain dead, any other medical term that fits, absolutely positutely nothing!
Sigh. Maybe something'll come to me in my sleep.
Night! <3
I guess we can start with Saturday's events and everything leading up to them. So I guess starting with tomorrow is logical enough. Tomorrow I have classes (duh) and work but sometime after work I am getting a study group together to study for Friday's Into to Psych exam. Fun stuff right? Well it just might be fun stuff considering the guy I like will be there as well as his friends and possibly another girl from my psych class. So that will be interesting if nothing else. However the guy I like is not responding to txt/messages so idk but then again I have already kinda covered that issue so moving on. Tomorrow night I am going out with one of my Phi Mu sisters to get a dress and shoes for formal pledging which is Saturday at wait for it......9 am! The fact that it is so early kinda ticks me of cause I am never up that early on a Saturday. O well. I'm also gonna look for another dress tomorrow, this one for the Student Christian Fellowship Valentine's day dinner thing which happens to be semi-formal and all my dresses of that category are in the 'burgh. But I am looking forward to the dinner. It'll give me a chance to look nice around the guys for once. Not that I don't try to look nice everyday but I admittedly do not wear a semi-formal dress, or a dress of any kind for that matter, everyday. So that much is exciting and I hope the guy I like will be there.
Ok Rant officially over!
Now onto the best part: Differential diagnosis: a guy's mind....go!
If anyone has any insight into this differential please let me know cause quite frankly House would never hire me seeing as I've got nothing. Like nothin', flatlining, brain dead, any other medical term that fits, absolutely positutely nothing!
Sigh. Maybe something'll come to me in my sleep.
Night! <3
Saturday, February 5, 2011
You Don't Want to Stay Up Late Blogging....I don't want to stay up late blogging...
...You want to go to bed and rethink your life.....I want to go to bed and..wait what?!?!
Ahh the good old Jedi mind trick. The inspiration came from none other than Star Wars of course. I am currently watching Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones...good movie.
A good "mind-trick" to try at the moment is "You are not missing your friends and everyone at home....I am not missing my friends and everyone at home" Too bad that doesn't actually work cause right now I do indeed miss my friends and everyone at home, especially my Bible Study group and the people at church and my family. Don't get me wrong I love where I am and I know I made the right choice; its just at this moment in time I feel a tad homesick.
On a happier note: Last night was sooooooooo much fun! I got to see a certain someone (yay!) and well what else do I need to say. SCF was amazing; we sang Our God and Here I Am to Worship (2 of my favorite worship songs). Then afterwards a group of us went and watched Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs. Such a good movie!
Idk much else so I will leave you with arguably the best quote from that movie:
"Come on Steve we have some diem to carpe"
Night <3
Ahh the good old Jedi mind trick. The inspiration came from none other than Star Wars of course. I am currently watching Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones...good movie.
A good "mind-trick" to try at the moment is "You are not missing your friends and everyone at home....I am not missing my friends and everyone at home" Too bad that doesn't actually work cause right now I do indeed miss my friends and everyone at home, especially my Bible Study group and the people at church and my family. Don't get me wrong I love where I am and I know I made the right choice; its just at this moment in time I feel a tad homesick.
On a happier note: Last night was sooooooooo much fun! I got to see a certain someone (yay!) and well what else do I need to say. SCF was amazing; we sang Our God and Here I Am to Worship (2 of my favorite worship songs). Then afterwards a group of us went and watched Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs. Such a good movie!
Idk much else so I will leave you with arguably the best quote from that movie:
"Come on Steve we have some diem to carpe"
Night <3
Tuesday, February 1, 2011
New Year, New Blog, New...Me?
Hey Hey Hey! So much has changed since I started my last blog and since i stopped blogging for that matter. Pitt was a no-go, not in the fact that I didn't go but in the fact that it wasn't the right fit. So....I applied to the University of Evansville and whala here I am. I love where I'm at and I love what I'm studying. As of now I'm a religion and psychology major (yay) and loving every minute of it. My favorite classes are, appropriately, Intro to New Testament and Intro to Psychology. And oh yeah, I'm joining Phi Mu!! I am soooo excited! As of Thursday this week I will officially be a Phi. Well....seeing as it is a Tuesday night, I should go to bed seeing as I have a 9am class tomorrow that I absolutely cannot afford to miss. Night!!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)